Beloved

Who am I in the morning when the day light calls my name?
When all around invite me to come here and join the game
“Come at once, pull up a chair and do not be so shy!”
Hearing what I’m not to be, I wonder, who am I?

Who am I at the mid-day meal – I cannot find a friend?
When all around me have someone – my someone is pretend
With hair of blue, a toothy smile, and mischief in his eye
Creating everything he is, I wonder, who am I?

Who am I in the evening-time when fire flies abound?
When the sun decides to hide himself – he’s nowhere to be found
The stars begin to twinkle in the dark part of the sky
In the absence of opinion – I wonder, who am I?

Who am I in my night-time dreams where imagination rules?
Am I fighting battles valiantly and finding precious jewels?
Do I find myself in blissful worlds, astonished I can fly?
Encountering the great I Am – who tells me who am I!

He tells me that he formed me from the dust of this green earth
His breath of life surrounds me and reveals what I am worth
He paints the picture of his Son who on the cross did die
Mindful is this great I Am – who tells me who am I!

 

Psalm 8

When I consider your heavens,
    the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
    which you have set in place,
what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
    human beings that you care for them?

New International Version (NIV)Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

One comment

  1. Beautiful, ME! I have had similar revelations. Thanks for this poem, I love the cadence!

Leave a Reply

